Should I do beginner or Intermediate?

K

K-Style

Hey guys. I've been training for about 7 months and have a tournament coming up. I wasn't sure what division I should be in for no gi. The tournament cutoff for novice to beginner is 6 months but I don't have any wrestling background and haven't train more than a few classes in no gi. My school only has class twice a week. My question is should I go ahead and move up to the 6 to 1.5 years group? Or stay with the under 6 month group since this is my first no gi tourney? I'm not trying to sandbag but I'd like to get a little experience. I just wasn't sure how much of a difference there was between the divisions. Thanks,

Huge difference in the divisions, go with the begginer you have not been training long and you dont train often.

I would not consider that move sandbagging.

It depends on what you want from the tourney. I would say that if you want to really push yourself then go for the upper division. Set your standards high and be ready to do your best. Itll help you improve more in most cases.

On the flip side there will be guys in the 6-1.5 division who have been training 5-6 days a week for 1 .5 years and may do very well. I would consider how you do in your class and against other schools students when you cross train. If you are very good for your experience level then stay with the upper class. If you are average or below compared to other guys then its fine to stay in begginer.

Intermediate if you have wrestling experience. What I do is I go into advanced nogi which isn't too bad if you have wrestling experience and do white belt gi. It balances out. You learn from being able to do technique and you also learn from getting your ass handed to you.

I personally think 7 months is fine to enter the novice division if you only train 2 days a week. It will be good experience, and there will be some people in that division that train daily for 6 months as well.