Running a begginers class?

ClubberLange

Green Belt
Reaction score
Due to a huge amount of new people coming in to my academy, my coach has started two classes for complete beginners, and he's asked me to run one of these.
Just looking for ideas to be thrown up, no matter how stupid you think they are.
Cheers,
Stef
:)

I've had to do this before, as well, and I understand how at the start it can seem a bit overwhelming when you step into the shoes of a teacher/coach rather than the place of a student. Teaching is an excellent way for yourself to learn more as well, though, so don't feel too nervous, just view it as 'advanced' training. Before anyone can give you much advice, though, you need to specify a bit better what sport you're working with. We know this is the grappling forum, but are you talking about Collegiate Wrestling? Brazillian Jiujitsu club? Judo? All of these sports have very different conditioning and performance expectations, and thus very different starting points in training.

teach this:
1. mount and how to keep it
a when guy pushes on belly
b when guy pushes on your chest
c when guy tries elbow escape

2. mount escapes and subs
a upa
b shrimp escape
c. arm bar
d americana
e. ezekial

3. guard
a. how to hold the guy and break his posture
b. how to keep posture in the guard
c. collar choke
d. arm bar
e triangle

4 guard escapes
a. knee into but escape
b. knee through escape
one standing escape

5. side control
a arm positions for top and bottom guy
b. three escapes

6. takedowns
first teach them how to fall properly, front, side, and back rolls
a single leg
b. double leg
c. hip throw

7. headlock escapes

8. guillotine ...how to do it and how to escape....this goes good with the takedown classes

teach them about strategy, breathing, technique not muscle, and how to tap and not be full of pride and get put to sleep or injured.

I think he does BJJ. At ground zero right ?