Questions on Two-Day Split

DynamiteMMA

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
Alright guys, after reading the FAQ I decided I'm going to start the two day split that's in there. For those that don't know, it's:

Day one:
Deadlift
Overhead press
Weighted pullup/chinup

Day two:
Squat
Benchpress
Bent over row

So I have two questions.

1) What set/rep scheme should I use for all exercises? I was thinking 5x5 for Squat and deadlift, then 3x5 for the rest. Would this work?

2) How would I incorporate cleans into my routine? What rep/set schemes would I use for those?

Thank you all in advance for any replies.

I'm a noob so don't think this post is aimed at giving routine advice. I would check out the Training Logs for routines that incorporate Cleans. There are a lot of people who keep a Log that incorporate all kinds of Olympic lifting into their routines.

How many times per week are you going to do this split? After I compete in May here is what my workouts are going to look like for awhile, maybe it can give you some ideas.

Day 1- Upper
Bench Press- 5-8x1, 6x3-5(Doug Hepburn-B)
Pull Downs or Chinups- 6x10-12
Incline DB Press- 2-3x10-12
arms and rear delts- a few sets

Day 2- Lower
Band Snatch- 5-8x1, 6x3-5(Doug Hepburn-B)
Power Squat- 5-8x1, 6x3-5(Doug Hepburn-B)
Leg Ext/Curl/Calf Raise- a few sets of whatever

Day 3- Upper
Military Press-5-8x1, 6x3-5(Doug Hepburn-B)
One Arm Row- 6x10-15
Flat DB Press or Pushups- 2-3xwhatever
arms and rear delts- a few sets

Day 4- Lower
Band Cleans-5-8x1, 6x3-5(Doug Hepburn-B)
Deadlifts- 5-8x1, 6x3-5(Doug Hepburn-B)
Shrugs- a bunch of sets and reps
Leg ext/curl/calf raise- whatever

Now on the lower days I am going to do some alternating every other workout. For instance...

lower day 1
band snatch alternated with regular snatch
Power Squat alternated with SSB Squats

lower day 2
band cleans alternated with regular cleans
regular deadlifts alternated with Hex bar deadlifts