New to Muay Thai kickboxing want 2 improve! Tips?

MuaithaiViper

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Hey new member and been doing kickboxing for 3 months, mainly heavy bag work.

I used to go nuts on the bag thinking that power was everything. After a few lessons from level 2 Muay Thai guys at my gym I realized I was approaching this all wrong.

This is my thought and plan, please feel free to give me input.

1. Work on basic form punches and kicks. Especially my jab and cross
2. Work on foot work. Dance around the bag, body movement, practice bop and weave, blocking ect.
3. Work on simple basic combination 3 hits the most

I've been watching boxing tips on You tube.com I believe that if I get good with boxing techniques it will be much more beneficial from the start.

Footwork footwork footwork, I've been doing doing classes for 3 months also. I noticed that what I worked on during the shadowboxing portion of the class was all wrong. The first thing I lost during sparring was my feet. I could still kick, knee, and punch on auto pilot but I still had to think about my foot placement. Especially practice J-turns, that is this best defense to any strike I think.

Also try to work out any idiot mistakes in your game like trying to block kicks with you hands. You can't grab the leg every time.

saying you do Muay Thai Kickboxing is like saying you do Kung fu Karate. They are nothing alike.

saying you do Muay Thai Kickboxing is like saying you do Kung fu Karate. They are nothing alike.

reminds me when people say Muay Thai Boxing....Muay Thai translates to Thai Boxing so they're saying Thai Boxing Boxing.

reminds me when people say Muay Thai Boxing....Muay Thai translates to Thai Boxing so they're saying Thai Boxing Boxing.

They want to show a particular emphasis on the boxing part... :icon_chee

Getting the techniques right. And most important, build your cardio! Running helps...a lot.

practise checking kicks. and using ur check to set up a big front kick or something.