Need to work with a more experienced lifter(s).

Evcity

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I started a basic lifting routine a while ago consisting of squats, bench and deadlifts as well as some other assisting exercises and a conditioning day. Despite the short time I have been doing it (two and a half weeks maybe?) I'm already feeling results. However, I have no regular workout partner; I usually work out alone or with a friend but he has different goals and little experience in heavy lifting.

Earlier today, I threw out my back doing deadlifts. I'm trying hard to maintain form but I'm a complete noob, and frankly, demonstrations I see on the internet aren't sitting in the mirror when I'm lifting, its just me and my unsure, bad form. Fortunately I don't think I'm really injured; my back was in pain (not the good kind) for most of the day, but I'm feeling much better after a hot shower and rest.

In any case, I got a wicked burn and I'm eager for tomorrow (hill running) but I'm starting to worry a little about the lifting. I'm loving getting under the bar and I know that it is the best/only way to build a powerful body but I have no intention of fucking up my back doing it. Is there such a thing as a powerlifting club? I know that I'll benefit greatly from the guidance of more experienced lifters, but I know noone who really knows what they are doing in these areas.

Any suggestions?

Yes, there are powerlifting clubs that could probably help. Do a search on google for "yourcity powerlifting" and see what comes up.

Here is a listing of the Powerlifting reps by state:

Powerlifting by State & Province | Powerlifting Watch

See if you can find a contact in your area. They can provide guidance to a good coach or gym where you can receive instruction.