Need some opinions (long read)

XTrainer

Red Belt
Reaction score
I don't post much in the grappling forum, but I've got a bit of a dilemma I'd like to hear some input on. I apologize in advance for the length.

I got into BJJ roughly 5 years ago. During that time, I have had about a half-dozen instructors in 3 different federations/associations. Numerous factors were responsible for this, including disputes between instructors, schools closing, and instructors changing their associations.

Additionally, I have been effectively "unaffiliated" for a couple years (since I moved) and most of my training (aside from visits home) has been with an unaffiliated MMA/no-gi club.

The bottom line is, I have around 5 years of grappling experience, but because of how disjointed it was (different schools, associations, instructors, etc.), I have no BJJ rank to show for it.

I haven't competed in couple years, but in my last gi tournament, I went 5-1 with 4 submissions...my point is, even at that point in my BJJ career, I knew what I was doing (at least insofar as a whitebelt can ever know what he is doing :D).

I'm obviously better now, and after a couple of years out the competition loop, I want to get back into competition. I don't feel like I would get any satisfaction out of competing as a white belt anymore. Even though, yes, that's technically my rank, I think I would just feel like a complete bully if I competed as a white belt.

On the other hand, if I compete no-gi (making belt rank irrelevant), my 5 years of experience, disjointed as it was, will nonetheless put me in the highest-experience division for most small tournaments. I don't feel like that is an accurate reflection of my skills, either...5 years of disjointed experience is nothing compared to as much, or even less time of consistent training in the same school...and there's really no need to even mention that lots of guys have been doing this stuff for much longer than I have.