Need help with Nautilus program.

Status
Not open for further replies.

edco76

huh?
Platinum Member
Reaction score
I am about to start doing some strength training. Mostly for fitness but would like to gain a bit of strength and mass as well. Problem is that my town is so small we don't have a gym. What we do have is a Community Center with a "gym" that has a treadmill and a bunch of Nautilus equipment. I know that free weights are preferable but I don't have the space or budget for a home gym and driving 20 miles to the closest gym will be setting myself up for failure. So what I got, is what I got.

My second problem is that I am a weight lifting noob. I built houses for years, so after 40+ hours of lifting lumber and tools all day I didn't need the weights. I was always in shape. Now I am a desk jockey and have slowly just added on the pounds and lost not only my physique but strength as well. I'm 31 so if I don't get it back now I may never. I don't have any idea how many reps/sets to do, how much weight to lift, or how often to work muscle groups. I will be devoting 3 days a week to my weight training (too little?)

Any help/advise will be appreciated.

go to rosstraining.com

Dude your probably good at building stuff so why don't you build a log press? You can also squat with a log if you build a stand for it. Don't use machines be creative with whats around you to lift heavy things.

You won't find much help with the Nautilus here.

I'd recommend making a sandbag out of a duffel bag and about 120 lb of sand in plastic bags.

Nobody here endorses machines. On Rosstraining.com you can order a book called Never Gymless that gives you enough bodyweight exercises to get in shape. That site also gives you information on homemade implements (e.g. sandbags) that are more effective than machines at achieving any strength related goal.