Need help with jab defense.

Lionidas

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I did some light sparring this morning in my boxing class and I have to be honest....I did terrible.

My partner realized his jab was too fast for me and I ate about 4-5 jabs in our short session. They weren't painful but they were stunning me for a split second each time and I couldn't see where his next punches would come from.
I tried blocking by putting my gloves closer together but ended up just turtling after the first jab got through.

Yes, I'm new to sparring and I do pretty well with blocking other shots but that jab....I ate it for breakfast. :mad:

p.s. I'm a short fighter, about 5'7 and my reach is 71".

try to slip or parry his jab or try to do this

move your head.
Keep your right hand higher
Make sure youre not sitting inside his left side.

Alot of people make the last mistake.

you could move to the sides as soon as he throws the jab and counter him.

also take in mind he might have longer arms than you, so you have to take the chances to attack first.

don't forget switch to the sides and counter.

when he is jabbing and you are turtling up are you allowing him to push you back.don't do this if you must move ,move forward or sideways

the avatar is carl frochs wife

You have to work on your footwork and move around. It sounds like you are standing right in front of your opponent. That makes you a sitting target. Also keep your hands up and work on your head movement. If your head is still then you are going to get hit.

Here are tons of videos on youtube:
YouTube - Pat Miletich: Defense - Slipping inside the jab[/url]

LOL - I used to know how to embed vids but I haven't been around here in forever!! You will have to C/P it. If you don't like this one then there are a shitload of videos on the side of the screen. Lot's of good advice.
Good luck!

Last edited:
Thanks guys, awesome replies so far.