Need help in Chicago

Steeltowner

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I was hoping someone can give some insight on training BJJ in the Chicagoland area. I am a total beginner but have been in love with the art since watching Royce a decade ago. I am currently training with a BJJ black belt in Chicago but unfortunately his class doesn't seem to be structured. The only thing I have truely learned in a few months is a few chokes from the mount and a few sweeps. I am wondering if I will ever learn anything that applicable in a street situation. I doubt that I could escape a headlock or a bear huhg at this point...which makes it pretty sad since I am dishing out a good chunck of change for BJJ. Anyhow, my question is this. ARE BJJ CLASSES GENERALLY NOT STRUCTURED? AM I LEARNING SPORT JIU JITSU? CAN ANYONE RECOMMEND AN ACADEMY IN THE CHICAGOLAND AREA WHO'S INSTRUCTOR(S) AREN'T IMPATIENT, KNOWELDGEABLE AND TEACH PRACTICAL JIU JITSU FOR SELF DEFENSE?

One of the posters here trains at Carlsons, he asnwered some questions I had about it in the past

i went to carlsons while in chicago, it was good to be there

What black belt are you training with???
The only BJJ blackbelts that I know of are at Carlson's and Curan's. Also I will train with you for free if you need training partners.

Bro, I saw the topic of your thread and must say anyone in Chicago needs help. I was there this summer and I just want to say that I so glad I am from Orange County because we have Mexicans here. In Chicago they have angry blacks who work fast food stores. Damn, they are rude. It's more like black women. Seriously, if you want attitude try to order something from a black woman. I LOVE MEXICANS!!!

Hey thanks guys. DreamKella, I sent ya a PM. I'd like to train whenever possibe. Anyhow, this weekend I'm going to try and visit some academies. TapstheKeg...I love Chicago, blacks, mexicans, jews, poles, irish, italians, arabs, they are all cool with me.