Moving To New Flat.Will Ground Floor Room Be Okay For Home Gym?

Kbo1992

White Belt
Reaction score
I am moving into a new property in a month's time. I have been looking into buying myself a home gym as i am sick of the lack of quality gyms in the area.

It is a ground floor flat i am moving into, i have checked the ceiling and it is definitely high enough for the power cage i have my eye on. My only concern is this.

I am looking to begin Starting Strength. The Olympic barbell set i am going to buy is a 400kg set. The plan would be to put the cage in the bedroom, along with the weights and bench. My single bed would be parked in the corner of the room.

Do i need to check with the landlord or council before i start planning and buying the goods? Should the floor be okay or might the weight cause problems?

Any tips would be well appreciated. I'm a home gym noob. :)

You really should.

Dropped barbells can crack concrete. That's why people with home gyms typically make their own platform or use a lot of hard-ass rubber.

So if i got myself a lifting platform, it should be okay. I will double check just to be safe.

I'm not planning on dropping the barbell but you never know if it will come.

Making them looks pretty cost effective.The concern would be it's durability though.

I've used both expensive, high end platforms, and cheap DIY rubber on top of plywood platforms. The DIY comes out ahead both in durability, and my preference when training. And obviously cost as well.

And while you may not intend to drop a barbell, if you train long enough, it will probably happen at some point. I would check with your landlord.

See if you can find a place that sells horse stall mats. A layer of those with plywood underneath and you should be good.

What material is your floor?

I lift in my garage on a concrete slab floor, with a 3/4" (1.9 cm) recycled tire rubber mat and VTX bumper plates.