motivation.

S

Sparky_204

Looking for some things that get people motivated to get out and train hard on those days where they just want to roll over in bed and sleep all day or what have you. I have been in a slump lately and have not been able to get myself to get up and go more then twice a week and its frustrating. Im not a pro or anything but I do like train and want to think about taking a fight this summer but I just am having a hard time getting my ass in gear. Just looking for ideas or suggestions other people might use to get themselves motivated or out of these types of slumps.

I stay motivated through routine. When it gets close to going home time from work, I just get my mind set on working out. When I get home, I let routine take over and get geared up and hit my home gym. Once I get out there and start warming up instinct takes over. When you get in that kind of routine motivation takes a backseat. I'm sure it helps, but really routine is key for me, and keeps me going.

yea routine is a big one for me, I get home an hit the weight s/ bag - if i get home an sit on the compute rfor 30 minutes, i see the time an think shit I cuda done some sets or a few rounds in that time, and wat have I gained. Fuck all, ive sat on sherdog or msn or watever for a bit of time and gained nothing.

Similarly, if you have had a bit of tim eout, then that's motivation to hit the weights hard cos you feel bad you haven't done it for a while!

Remember, there's ALWAYS SOMEONE TRAINING HARDER THAN YOU!!!

I had a slump and ended up not training for 6+ years. Only a long break got me interested again, but I did try everything. Looking back, just a change of dojo would have been better than quitting. So dont quit!

The longest time I was off was about a year due to an injury.