MMA Training Advice

b0b

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I didn't know whether I should post this in the Stand up or Grappling forum, but here it goes.

I train at an MMA school that teaches Judo, BJJ, Muay Thai, and MMA (Duh!). Due to my schedule, I have only been attending the Judo and BJJ. I tend to pick things up pretty fast when grappling, and have been doing well compared to other people who started around the same time as me. I have attended the Muay Thai before, and don't really like striking I have found. I am not that good at it, and feel that I need a TON of work on my standup to even be adequate.

My question is, is it better to have a good base in 1 discipline, and then diversify later, or to train both full time?

My schedule is opening up to where I can do both. I realize I suck at Muay Thai because I don't practice it, and that I will never get better if I don't do it. I don't want it to interrupt my grappling training, because I feel that is going well.

Thanks for any advice/words of wisdom.

Just train what you enjoy man, especially if you are not planning on becoming a pro fighter. Focus on grappling and go to some comps, and you can do more later if you want to.

b0b said:
I didn't know whether I should post this in the Stand up or Grappling forum, but here it goes.

I train at an MMA school that teaches Judo, BJJ, Muay Thai, and MMA (Duh!). Due to my schedule, I have only been attending the Judo and BJJ. I tend to pick things up pretty fast when grappling, and have been doing well compared to other people who started around the same time as me. I have attended the Muay Thai before, and don't really like striking I have found. I am not that good at it, and feel that I need a TON of work on my standup to even be adequate.

My question is, is it better to have a good base in 1 discipline, and then diversify later, or to train both full time?