Madcow Adjustment-- Starting Mid-Program

Neuro

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
Has anyone here had success starting Madcow mid-program, i.e. starting it in Week 3, 4, or 5, and skipping the first two weeks, which are extremely light?

I'm still a relatively novice lifter, but just finished running 5/3/1 for 5 months, and was hoping to give Madcow a try. I understand this is a variation off the program and likely not advised, but given that I'm still a novice, I was hoping to still milk some of my novice gains, particularly off squat and bench (my weakest lifts).

Others on this forum have seen me pose a similar dilemma before, I apologize for redundancy.

Thanks for any/all feedback!

no. Stick with the program. In week 4 you'll be hitting your 5 rep maxes! Stop being impatient. Good luck.

no. Stick with the program. In week 4 you'll be hitting your 5 rep maxes! Stop being impatient. Good luck.

You're probably right-- I def am being impatient. Thanks bra

I tried starting on week 4 the first time I did it, and I stalled on week 6. Definitely start from the beginning. I got 16 straight weeks of progress (12 weeks of PRs) when I started from week 1.

I tried starting on week 4 the first time I did it, and I stalled on week 6. Definitely start from the beginning. I got 16 straight weeks of progress (12 weeks of PRs) when I started from week 1.

That's quite an endorsement for it-- sounds like it worked really well for you. I might cycle through 5/3/1 another time and then in the New Year begin Madcow. Thanks man.

If you're a novice why aren't you running a novice program?

Fair question-- few reasons:

1. I had lifted without a program for about 9 months before beginning 5/3/1, so I had some weird numbers. My deadlift was very high for a beginner, as was my bench, but my squat and overhead press were completely novice.