Madcow Adjustment-- Starting Mid-Program

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by Neuro, Dec 24, 2012.

1. Neuro

Neuro Purple Belt

Has anyone here had success starting Madcow mid-program, i.e. starting it in Week 3, 4, or 5, and skipping the first two weeks, which are extremely light?

I'm still a relatively novice lifter, but just finished running 5/3/1 for 5 months, and was hoping to give Madcow a try. I understand this is a variation off the program and likely not advised, but given that I'm still a novice, I was hoping to still milk some of my novice gains, particularly off squat and bench (my weakest lifts).

Others on this forum have seen me pose a similar dilemma before, I apologize for redundancy.

Thanks for any/all feedback!

2. CRZA

CRZA Purple Belt

no. Stick with the program. In week 4 you'll be hitting your 5 rep maxes! Stop being impatient. Good luck.

3. Neuro

Neuro Purple Belt

You're probably right-- I def am being impatient. Thanks bra

4. Pathogenic

Pathogenic Wo Cao Ni Ma

I tried starting on week 4 the first time I did it, and I stalled on week 6. Definitely start from the beginning. I got 16 straight weeks of progress (12 weeks of PRs) when I started from week 1.

5. N3ver3nder

N3ver3nder Yellow Belt

If you're a novice why aren't you running a novice program?

6. Neuro

Neuro Purple Belt

That's quite an endorsement for it-- sounds like it worked really well for you. I might cycle through 5/3/1 another time and then in the New Year begin Madcow. Thanks man.

7. Neuro

Neuro Purple Belt

Fair question-- few reasons:

1. I had lifted without a program for about 9 months before beginning 5/3/1, so I had some weird numbers. My deadlift was very high for a beginner, as was my bench, but my squat and overhead press were completely novice.