Machida asks for better title shot criteria, would fight Silva

Shaddows

Titanium Belt
@Titanium
Reaction score
Big news from Machida.
After all, Silva always refused going up because "it was Machida's divison"...

Maybe one division is too small for both? :)

Beforehand though, here's his thought on title shots:
"I can't say if it's fair or unfair. Anderson has a big history behind him, his not a nobody. If Dana White says that he will fight for the title, I won't contest. I just think that the criteria should be stronger and better defined but we have to move on. I'm not a guy to be complaining, I like to focus on my work."

Here's about fighting Silva

"Everyone asks me if I would face him but it's a bout far away of happening. Of course I would. As a professional, I would do it. The audience would like to watch. But it's a fight out of context and to me it isn't going to happen, so I don't like to talk about."

link

I want to see Anderson fight for the title at least one more time.

Machidas had plenty of title shots

I don't think he means only himself.
But look at hows Silva bypassed Jacare, luke and him by fighting DIaz!

Then look at Connor bypassing Frankie by beating Siver

Or Sonnen & Jon

Or Lesnar....

... an many more!

Machidas had plenty of title shots

yes he has but he has also deserved them. I do agree with Silva getting a shot next if he does win though. Not saying anything will change but I would like to see a fight with no excuses.

respectful. true.

I think Machida gets it that the Weidman fight, while very good, was a clear loss for him.

I would love to see him fight Silva, title or not title. As long as they are not too friendly to really get after each other

Beat few cans + 1 top 5ish win + move the needle = instant title shot...

Ask Connor Mc

I wish there was a criteria as well.