Lead teep to lower gut. Lean back or not?

Frode Falch

Steel Belt
Professional Fighter
Reaction score
Teep lovers. Do you lean back when you teep low? Not as low as the legs. But i am talking about low on the gut / torso.

I dont have a video. Just a photo.

But i coach from another mma/thai gym came to visit us. He told me not to lean back like that.

Attachments

• _20190202_155943.JPG
    _20190202_155943.JPG
    187.6 KB · Views: 41
In this video I found appears to show a slight lean back caused by more the hip movement to gain more power . If used as a quick push no lean back

Teep lovers. Do you lean back when you teep low? Not as low as the legs. But i am talking about low on the gut / torso.

But i coach from another mma/thai gym came to visit us. He told me not to lean back like that.

Maybe because you leaned to the side. I'm no expert though how MT guys throw their front kicks.

I feel like i have more balance when i lean back a bit.

I also feel like i have better follow up opinions.

@shincheckin

I lean to the side in that photo because its a hybrid side teep

No not when i teep. Only when i do sidekick, spinning kicks, or snap roundhouse.

Honestly my problem in muay thai was always the teep. On the bag i could do it properly to an extent but i could never put my leg all the way straight. In sparring i would do it sometimes but most of the time i would either miss it or if i hit it the guy who be coming towards me and i would get pushed back. If i ever train muay thai again i want to work on that shit too. You should try working on hip mobility or something leaning back is what they always taught me.

I feel like i have more balance when i lean back a bit.

I also feel like i have better follow up opinions.

@shincheckin