Kyokushin Calf Tear

HoneyBear

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi guys,

Sharon from Australia - newbie to Sherdog (first post).

Short BIO :

Female
42 years old
5'3" tall
59 kg
18% BF
Kyokushin Karateka - senior red belt

I have been doing strength training for about 4 years, and took up Kyokushin Karate with my three youngest sons (aged 12, 13 & 14) in January this year. We all graded straight to senior red belt 2 months later, and are aiming to go straight to senior blue in September. It's great having 4 of us at home - we train together, and teach each other.

I have fallen in love with Kyokushin, and have become a bit of a nutter about it, and train fairly intensely (as I do with weights). I have 2 speeds for everything - full on and stop.

Because I had never done this sort of training before, and there was a lot of sparring involved, I stopped strength training my legs for a while so that I didn't overdo it, but kept on with upper body workouts. I substituted lower body weight training with stretching, as I found that I was very tight in the legs generally.

Unfortunately, after a particularly enthusiastic spar with an 18 year old black belt about 5 weeks ago, I tore my right calf muscle. My physio thinks it's about a grade 2-3 tear, and I have been laying low, trying to do the right thing so I can get back to training as soon as possible. I went from crutches to high heels (that's what the doctor ordered!).

Started back at Karate last week - sparring flat-footed (as I still can't bounce on it), and Monday night just gone, I got put off balance by a young enthusiastic white belt, and tore the muscle again. Not so bad this time, but I'm out for another week.