judo bluebelt starting bjj tonight!

Nickynoneck

Purple Belt
Reaction score
What to expect ?? any pointers ?? not gonna show up and say stupid stuff like "well we do this in judo " crap its disrespectful , iam just wondering of general stuff i should know ?

Def gonna keep my mouth shut and learn , just should i use my judo if we do anystand up??
any judoka have any stories of starting bjj for the first time ?

UPDATE : great class did some great turnovers did some nice traingle set ups that didnt really work for me cuz i have stocky stubby legs so i had compremise and to an arm bar .

did are fav throw which was up my alley , and then worked on getting out of positons and stuff , i tapped alot which was ok with me i was happy that I passed some blue belts guards and lasted about 30 secs with a brown belt haha .

tell em u've done judo so they know ur not a complete beginner.

tell em u've done judo so they know ur not a complete beginner.

I already talked to them they know iam looking foward to just learning i want to be a sponge and just saok up everything .

Two stupid things really.

1. Dont roll with blues and above unless they ask you. Some of them get pissy about that kind of thing. Dont ask why. Wait until you know them a bit.

2. A no brainer, but stay relaxed. Respect will come quicker if your opponents dont feel they are rolling with a meat head. Shouldnt be a problem for you, but ya never no.

the transition from BJJ to Judo is much easier than Judo to BJJ so you should be just fine. welcome to the world of butt scooting.:icon_lol:

1.) don't be a spazz

2.) ask questions

3.) use your judo if you do standup

4.) tap often.

Which club did you pick?

Titans its the easiest place for me classes are at 630 so i have no prob going from my work to there in less then 10 mins .

And its also 8 mins fro my home , so it was the best option , Fit plus was my first pic just cuz there facilty is wicked but titans is just so close .

1.) don't be a spazz