Joslin's 2005 Canadian Open

I am, it'll be my first tourney, and I'm pretty excited about it. I'm going in the intermediate no-gi division, 85 kgs.
I've only been doing BJJ for a few months, but I've been wrestling for 10 years, so hopefully it will balance out.
Are you going?

Yes I'm going, (hopefully, if I'm healthy), it'll be my first tourney too. I'm kinda in the same boat as you, only been doing no-gi jiu-jitsu for a couple months, but wrestling my whole life.

I'm still debating going but if I do I'll be representing Rebellion JJ out of Toronto.. Anyone here from Toronto?

Rai_Polo said:
I'm still debating going but if I do I'll be representing Rebellion JJ out of Toronto.. Anyone here from Toronto?

Nope, I'm coming up from Pittsburgh.

I'll be there - the 205-220 no gi intermediete division. Been doing jj for close to 2 years now.

Rai_Polo said:

Hey man, I'm in Toronto... New here too, I am thinking about going also. I have some wrestling experience and started taking Judo, I kind of want to enter the no-gi division, don't really care if I get my butt handed to me, just wondering what exactly the grappling competition is all about... Might go as a spectator instead, looks fun anyways.

im not going but my training partner is going in the 185-205 gi and nogi advanced division...hes comming down from thunder bay and should be pretty tough....

185-205 gi and no gi Intemediate.

Wrestling for 10 years? shouldnt you be in the advanced division rory44?

native_grappler said:
185-205 gi and no gi Intemediate.

Wrestling for 10 years? shouldnt you be in the advanced division rory44?

maybe I'll see you there :wink: I've only been doing submisions since the start of the summer, so I was sort of wondering the same thing.
I'll talk to the tourney organizers and see what they say. I'm not interested in winning a medal in a division I don't belong in.

where abouts do you train?