Joint, ligament and tendon injuries in BJJ

fighting.spirit

Yellow Belt
@Yellow
Reaction score
Are they inevitable? What are the best ways to prevent them? (Specifically finger injuries)

A freind of mine has been training for a little over a year. The [top] joints in his fingers are really swollen and cause him lots of pain when he trains. He was advised to stop training, by the doctor he went to, and the surgery that was suggested would prevent him from ever training again. Not cool.

Last edited:
It is something that happens but, not something that happens to everyone. I just sat out 8 months due to a knee injury. I was already prone to it before I started training so I think it all depends on the person

I would say conditions with fingers like that are the exception, not the norm. If you are just starting i would say the best possible advice I received was ...just relax. Most white belts (who are just starting) spazz out, are incredibly rigid in their movements, and act like it is a knock against their manhood if they tap in sparring. Relax, remember you are there to learn, and there is no shame in tapping, as you will have tapped thousands of times in sparring as you progress. The more you try to defend (when you don't know what your doing) The worse off you will be down the road (as far as joint / muscle pain is concerned