Jiu-Jitsu

Doherty45

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
I am starting Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu training in a few weeks and I am not sure what to expect. I have no prior martial arts experience and never wrestled in H.S., I played football in H.S and College (Linebacker) as well as a bunch of other sports (Lacrosse, Hockey), so I am pretty athletic. But what I am really wondering is, how does a normal BJJ session go? For example if i were to describe a normal football practice for a Linebacker I would say:

1. Stretching/Warmups
2. Position Training (Form Tackling, Followed by some type of gameplaning, followed by some full contact drills)
3. Possibly some 7 on 7 passing (QB, RB, FB, TE, Recievers vs. LBs, CBs, Safetys) or some 8 on 8 (QB, FB, RB, Oline vs. DLine, LBs) running drills.
4. Scrimmage offense vs. defense (amount of contact varies from limited to full)
5. Possibly Special Teams Work
6. Conditioning in the form of sprints (25 yds, 50 yds or 100 yds and back), long distance running or circuit training.
7. Team gathering with head coach and then positional gatherings with LB coach.

Could anyone breakdown a typical jiu-jitsu session like this? I am wondering how tough its going to be and what shape I am going to need to be in to survive.

At first you'll be learning technique and rolling around causally, just go and have fun.
You'll learn basic positioning, you'll train getting in and out of those positions, as well as holding them, and you'll 'roll for position' without subs. You'll practice specific subs. You'll probably start off on the knees or with one of you in guard when you are rolling (not drilling).

The specifics, like what you listed, will probably vary greatly depending on where you train. Don't worry about being good at first, just learn stuff.

Thanks a lot man.