Improving Flexibility

Phill Core

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
I just started training again (thai and BJJ) and I came to a cold realization trying to stack a guy in his guard, my flexibility is gone. My fiancee does Bikrham hot yoga and she is quite flexibile. Does anyone else do yoga or anything else to improve flexibility?

Sorry if this thread was started in the wrong place, wasn't sure where to strat it up.

Probably more of a conditionin', stand-up, or grapplin' topic, but I'll bite.

I usually do dynamic stretches (leg swings, elephants, etc) b4 trainin', and try to do some static stretches after a workout. That's helped a lot. I also do some tai chi/chi kung/yoga sometimes. Probably should do that latter more often, but flexibility's not been too much of a problem for me.

Thanks, I do dynamic stretching as well as part of my warm up, but it doesn't really seem to be doing all that much for me. Thanks for the link as well.

ive wanted to try yoga for about a year now but have been too lazy to seek out a class, let me know if you decide to go with it

I just started training again (thai and BJJ) and I came to a cold realization trying to stack a guy in his guard, my flexibility is gone. My fiancee does Bikrham hot yoga and she is quite flexibile. Does anyone else do yoga or anything else to improve flexibility?

Sorry if this thread was started in the wrong place, wasn't sure where to strat it up.

I've tried Bikhram yoga and I found that doing it gave my joints more spring. If you're interested in a non-yoga bases guide to stretching, get the book Stretch to Win by Ann Frederick. It's very well written and based on solid principles of human movement and anatomy. The stretching programs in that book could be adapted to suit all types of training, the book is that good.