Imitating fighters styles?

TapSD

Killer Bee....1%
Reaction score
I love the stand up forum..usually one of the more educated places for the posters of Sherdog and I have been reading alot of threads where guys go "Well..i try to imitate Fedor or Shogun or whoever" and IMO this is a bad way to train

The first time I ever trained mT in Pattaya my Kru said "we have to figure out what kind of fighter you are" as in my personal style. I think every fighter has a certain style kind of as unique as a fingerprint and I think imitating a fighter instead of finding your style is a bad way to train.

Anyone kinda agree with me?

whole heartedly. Still, there is no reason to try and reinvent the wheel. We should learn what we can from those who went before us without fooling ourselves into thinking that we can become them.

I'm pretty new to Muay Thai having only trained for little over a month and I disagree with your statement. I can see why imitating Fedor and Shogun is a bad idea, they are both unorthodox fighters and compete in MMA not Muay Thai. Generally speaking their wild striking style wouldnt translate as well in a kickboxing or boxing context (Rampage has proven us wrong in the past). That said, I find myself imitating alot of the top fighters at my gym, takeing from them what works for me. IMO this method makes alot of sense.

"Imitating a fighter" 95% of the time is a horrible idea and could wreck you're career, in my opinion.

Everyone is there own individual and has there own unique points and there own weaknesses.

Say, if I wanted to imitate Shogun's style of fighting, his build is totally different from mine, he could have a strong or weak jaw if it was strong he would most likely take more risks, fight more offencive ect, if he had a week jaw he would probobly fight more defencive, and take less risks or what ever. You're style usually corrisponds to you're strengths and weaknesses.

Thats the way I look at it.