I'm Tired of Being a Skinny Bitch

Discussion in 'Training Logs' started by Matt Thornton, Apr 15, 2008.

1. Matt Thornton

Matt Thornton Amateur Fighter

Some of you guys told me I needed to start a log. So here it goes.

I started training MMA 3 years ago. I grew up a pretty pudgy kid, so by the time I hit middle school and got into martial arts and wrestling, my focus was getting skinny. I never really lifted weights, just did tons of cardio.

So, when I started MMA, I was reasonably skinny. (5'11" ~150 pounds) I wasn't a total weakling but I was by no means strong. Over the last 3 years, I've really focused a lot more on technique than strength. I was always rolling with bigger guys.

Anyways, for the last couple years, I've been lurking the S&P forums, and reading the hell out of T-Nation.com and trying out their stuff. I've always told myself "Alright, as soon as I get to x% body fat, I'll go on a strength and mass program."

I never did. And for a little while now, I've realized my plan is not to be a 155er my whole life. Even when I do fight pro 155, I still want to be 170 and cutting to 155. For my last amateur fight, I didn't even set foot into a sauna to make 55.

Now I'm at college, and my technique training is a little limited, and I have access to multiple weight rooms. Plus, I have unlimited swipes at the dining commons. For the last couple of weeks, I've just been lifting heavy and eating like a champ, packing on a little functional mass.

As of right now, I don't have a totally specific goal. I plan on fighting again this summer, and when I get out of school I'm going off my bulk program and slimming down. When I do that, I still plan on powerlifting twice a week.

I'll keep updating every time I lift. The core lifts right now are:
    -Snatch grip DL from 4" platform
    -Oly front squat
    -Pull Ups
    -Hang Clean
    -Push Press
    -Lunge/Step Up