I'm getting buldozed!

showbizconnor

White Belt
Reaction score
hi Guys,

I just thought i'd throw this one out to the group to see if anybody might have any tips on how i might be more competative against a particular guy i train with?

I've been taring for about 4 months (No Gi) 5 times a week with 3 of the classes being private one to one lessons with my instructor so i'm training with a lot if intensity and my technique is coming on nicely and my instructor has hinted that i'm getting very close to my blue belt.

I do well in class against all the whites and the lower blues but i'm getting dominated by one guy in particular and his jiu jitsu isn't even that good.

he weighs about 100kg and is solid at the weight, i'm 90kg and bit soft round the middle so although we're both pretty big this guy out muscles me with ease.

He's been training for about 2 years and is still a white but he just buldozes through anything i try,

I generally play guard, his base isn't that strong but everytime i try and sweep him he just doesn't budge, any subs i throw up from guard just get shrugged off and he subs me with neck cranks from half guard and side control.

he's a cool guy and trains in the right way but he's so strong i'm stuck for ideas on how to stop him manhandeling me let alone landing a sub.

any ideas????

Keep going to class. I'm sure you're ready for blue belt after 4 months and all....but likely you just need to work on basic technique.

Try to play top with him. If your top game is lacking, then thats even better.

Use Butterfly Guard, Arm Drags, and take his back.

Watch clips of Marcello Garcia to see how he handles larger opponents.

If you are smaller, you most likely are quicker and you need to use this speed to your advantage.

In other words, you are getting schooled by a really strong and explosive guy.

Keep working on it, and try to get on top.