i want to transition to grappling

RJ Powell**

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
So i have been practicing and competing in Muay Thai and Boxing for a few years now, but i wanna actually get paid for fighting in the future. And as we all know, pickins are slim when it comes to paychecks for Kickboxers in america. So i might try my hand at MMA.

I'm not in a mad rush to go pro or anything, considering the fact that i have a VERY cozy government job where i post on sherdog all day, i just want to compete in something with a deeper talent pool that is not outside of the USA. If i lived in europe i would have no problem going 100% on the Kickboxing. but here in the U.S. there is a severe lack of sparring partners and MT specific training camps, everything caters to MMA. So i guess if i can't beat em', ill join em.

I am a fucking devout, extremist Kickboxing and Muay thai fan, with very strong beliefs that the striking talent in MMA is dismal compared to the grappling talent. But all that aside, MMA is somewhere up there in my favorites list too, so i'll be willing to try it out one day.

Now i have never grappled seriously, with the exception of a little bit of Judo in high school, and watching alot of grappling instructionals & live competitions, picking up a bit of techniques from my friends etc. Yeah i know, all that counts for squat when it comes to real grappling.

-anyways-