Help: Started lifting.... allways tired /exausted

Mike Oxendeep

Brown Belt
Reaction score
SO about 2 weeks ago I started lifting daily, pretty hard. I;ve never really lifted before. I do about an 1.5 mile run warm-up, then one hour lift: (7-10) excersizes @ 3 sets each of 1 or 2 areas a day (i.e. sholders/back..legs/bicepts). I also take creatine and protein drinks 2 a day.
My qiestion is this: I have just felt exausted for days now. I can fall asleep standing up. In the past I've done cardio workouts often -- run 3 miles and bike or swim daily, and my energy levels actually go way up.

Why am I so exausted now? Is it from creatine / supplements. Is it from lifting itself? ANyone else have this experience and does it trail off?

thanks

how much sleep do you get a night?

whats your diet look like?

7-10 exercises sounds like a lot of volume

i think since you have not lifted before you should not be taking suppliments for gaining strength quite yet, protein is ok. concentrate on a few lifts and get the technique down (bench, squat, basic stuff), i wouldnt go everyday, i wouldnt run 1.5 miles before every workout that is why you are so tired, if i was you i would not lift longer that 30 min per session. i have been lifting and involved in contact/combat sports my entire life (23 years old now) and i cannot have a high quality workout in the weight room that lasts much longer than an hour. so go pretty light, get 10-12 reps per set, try to perfect your form, dont worry about how much johnny benchpress is lifting, get out of there if you dont have any energy, and use the search function for a beginner workout plan

Lifting can drain you physically an mentally, and doing 7-10 exercises every single day sounds a lot like overtraining.

from the sound of it you need to read the stickies.