Help Out a Novice!!!

Ukraiina

Blue Belt
Reaction score
This is my first time venturing into S&P, hopefully I wont sound too dumb... Anyways this is my situation and I was hoping for some advice from you fellas. I am about 6'1 and 145-148 lbs. Yes, very slim I know. I started lifting a about 3 months ago and I have made some improvements.

Anyways I have numerous questions. I wasn't exactly gifted with great genes, they are not bad, I am in fact very athletic its just I have generally pretty skinny arms and small chest while my six pack is in hiding. I am basically looking for an exercise that will build my upper body shape. This may sound bodybuilder-ish but i am also looking to increase my functional strength as well. Also, if someone can suggest an exercise that will improve my posture, id greatly appreciate it.

I have been benching and doing curls (which are ridiculed on this site for some reason), military presses (rarely) and some bent rows. Should I maybe do some deadlifts and focus more on military presses?

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Generic response:

read stickies
read faq
gtfo curl monkey

squats, deadlifts, overhead press, eat more

Generic response:

read stickies
read faq
gtfo curl monkey

squats, deadlifts, overhead press, eat more

Yes.

ukraina.jpg

compound exercies only, sub curls with chin ups.. don't do leg sculpting exercies like leg externsions/curl do squats and variations for legs only. Leave the bench behing and try alternating dumbell press or more push ups.

If you want to gain strength, do what is suggested in the FAQ. It seems you have read enough posts to know curls are ridiculed, that bodybuilder routines are frowned on, etc.. If you have read that much, you should already know what is recommended here for strength.