Guys reaping my knee in training?

redaxe

Silver Belt
@Silver
Reaction score
So you guys that do gi BJJ all know that you can get DQed in a competition for "reaping the knee" which means passing your foot over your opponent's leg from the outside when in the footlock position, like this:

IMG_0298.JPG

What he is doing in this picture is clearly ILLEGAL.

However, what if your partner is standing, you are in open guard, and you put your legs in that same position and try to sweep from there? Is it still illegal?

I just started training at a new academy and I've had several guys do this to me. One of them actually triangled his legs around mine that way, and I told him "you can't do that, that's reaping the knee." He said it is legal, and the instructor taught it to him as a sweep. He seemed to have it confused with the 50/50 though, which is legal, where the inside leg crosses over, instead of the outside leg.

We asked the instructor but his answer was kind of unclear, and he kind of said that it depends on the referee, and that its only illegal if you actually crank on his knee or something, which seemed odd to me.

So, what do you guys think? If my opponent is standing, and I triangle my legs around his on the inside (opposite from the 50/50), and I'm not going for a foot lock but using it to sweep instead, is that legal or not?

Illegal, sorry bro!

OK, so actually I was right to tell my training partner that he can't legally put his legs in that position to sweep me. Thanks, I feel vindicated now.

I noticed there's nothing written about reaping the knee in the IBJJF rules at all, what gives?

Many times when you are standing what changes it from being illegal to legal is the fact of whom put the leg in that position.

Think of it this way: I f you slap a ankle lock on some one and they move you foot across their hip (to the reap position) it is still legal.