Goal #1 -> Sleep More

Dead Left

White Belt
Reaction score
6'0"
225lbs: I could probably lean out to 185. I wouldn't say that I'm a full 40lbs overweight, but I'm 40 lbs over fighting weight. Fatass.
31 years old.

I'm back in school right now trying to finish out my BA. I've decided to use a sort of prehab routine on Fridays until school is out and then move into a 16 week bulking cycle with emphasis on the big three. You won't see the holy trinity in what I'm calling my prehab weeks because I'm doing the big three at school... sort of. I made the mistake of signing up for a lifting class and now I am forced to participate in an inconsistent and unpredictable routine on Mondays and Wednesdays. Every class there's a 50% chance that we're just going outside to play touch football and a 50% chance that we're "maxing our Bench". This will be over soon, then I can get down to business for the summer.

I started lifting about a year ago, but I've figured out that I squashed my own progress by overtraining and not getting enough sleep. I was jogging 3-5 miles twice a week, running hill and stadium stair intervals twice a week, lifting three times a week, and taking muay thai and no-gi grappling classes. This semester I'm playing soccer and still getting to striking, grappling, and judo classes as often as school allows. Over the summer I really plan to stop running altogether, lift very hard twice a week, do some MMA training, and sleep, eat, sleep, eat, and sleep. I'll worry about losing the fat once I've met my basic strength goals.

So for the next few weeks, my routine looks like this:

Front Squat 5x5 @115lbs. (I've never done the FS before and I'm focusing on my form. I think I have a problem with wrist flexibility. I found the shoulder pocket for the bar, but I just can't get my elbows high enough.)

Glue-Ham Raise 5x5 w/ 55lb DB. (Ok, I _think_ I'm doing Glute-Ham Raises and not Hyperextensions. What's the difference? I'm bending my knees a little as I come up.)