first wrestling match

Cameron

Purple Belt
Reaction score
on december 14 im going to have my first high school wrestling tournament. now i was just wondering what should i expect/prepair for and what are some tips thats i should work on. now ive been wrestling for about 1 month and doing some jj for about 2 months. im 5'9 and 128 pounds now any advice would be much appriciated.

i got a tournament on that day too for wrestling, except we just started this monday, so its barely 2 weeks preperation.

yeah i think i have it some where around there too. And i also have been only doing bjj for 2 months. And wrestling for 3 weeks. And the coach wants me to wrestle 103 in an ALL VARSITY Tournament. I feel a lot of pressure because everyone expects me to be great.

Guys relax, You will learn alot about yourselves . Just learn the moves coach is teaching you.
Work on one really good takedown for YOU and learn the stand up REALLY well!
Off time RUN RUN RUN!
When match day comes set a pace that the other guy cannot handle. IF you did your running your cardio should be up to par and you should be able to seperate yourself from your opponent late in the 2nd and 3rd periods.
For you lighter guys dont worry MOST of the time the other little guys are new too. Generally speaking guys between 103-119lbs are freshman and sophmores while the bigger guys on varsity tend to be juniors and seniors.
Ofcourse this is VERY general but it seems to shake down this way.

Good Luck and let us know how it goes.

i would say get your cardio up, start doing some HIIT or Tabata or something cause those matches are no joke, so work on your cardio and focus on like 3 or 4 moves and stuff, i wish you luck.