first time sparring

iBox

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm going to be sparring for my first time this week and could use some advice. I've been working on my cardio and technique for about 8 months now, so I'm not too worried about getting gassed. Just hoping you guys could give me some pointers about common mistakes beginners make when sparring, and what I should be most focused on when I'm in the ring. Thanks for the help.

Don't back straight up. Don't cover up and put your face down as that leaves you open to upper cuts. You probably already know that though.

Expect to get hit, don't let it bother you. Training your defense is as important as your offense.

I know you think otherwise, but expect to gas. You could get an adrenaline dump your first time sparring.

Circle, stay calm, and work your techniques. Try to learn how your opponent reacts to your movements. Like poker, look for tells and use them. e.g. if he always slips/blocks the same way to your jab, fake the jab and punch where he will be. You should pick up some patterns in the first minute or so.

When you keep your gloves up in front of your face, hold them there stiffly. Otherwise when your gloves are hit, you will just hit yourself in the face. I know it sounds funny, but I remember I experienced it a few times to start, and saw it with other first-timers. You hear so many times "keep your hands up", and you figure that is all there is to it. Then, when your gloves are hit and your hands are just loosely up there "pow, right in the kisser."

Don't stare at the opponent's face or eyes, try to generally focus around the shoulder/upper body area to see where a punch may be coming from.

I liked all the other responses so far.

Gonna sound counter-intuitive but try and enjoy it.

Don't panic. Try to be relaxed, even though that's hard to do your first time sparring.