Early morning weightlifting

passin_guard

White Belt
Reaction score
Im a amateur mma fighter with 15 fights at 170 but never really done any strength training. My wife got my a gym membership to help my get down to 155, but I also want to become stronger. Between my work and training schedule I decided its best to do my lifting first thing in the morning before work. Is a bowl of oatmeal with protein powder in it good to eat as soon as i wake up?. Then how long do I need to wait before lifting?

Also, Im not sure how I can get stronger without getting bigger. Any routines to suggest? Im thinking doing sets of 10 or 20 instead of sets of 5, will that work? And do I still need to focus on max strength? Im coming off like a total noob. Flame away

Oatmeal and protein is fine. Probally wait about 30-60min to lift

Read the faqs. Since you haven't really lifted, starting strength or strong lifts would be fine or an accelerated progression 5/3/1(normal progression is too slow for a beginner)

You can get stronger without getting bigger. Keep your diet in check. Stay away from 10-20 reps workouts unless its for assistance and you want to get bigger (hypertrophy).

Routines and other info that will help are in the FAQ.

When I work out in the morning all I eat is a cup and a half of oatmeal and a protein drink as well, always felt fine with that.

Sure, that sounds good. I usually wait at least an hour after eating, but I dont think there's a set rule. Try different times out and see how you feel.