dumbell bench vs. bar

cathal

Orange Belt
Reaction score
im doing dumbell bench presses in my routine at the moment rather than barbell bench presses,since im pretty new at the training,what are the pros and cons of each one basically,which do you find better to do,or is there even any real difference?

Db requires more stabilizer muscles and has a greater ROM. For strength and power, I prefer BB. For functional strength, stability and hypertrophy, I prefer DB

BabyPhenom said:
Db requires more stabilizer muscles and has a greater ROM. For strength and power, I prefer BB.

I agree with you here.

BabyPhenom said:
For functional strength, stability and hypertrophy, I prefer DB

But I don't get this part. If you agree that barbell benching builds greater strength and power, how is it going to provide inferior functional strength?

Especially for hypertrophy though, I'd definately go with barbell presses. Moving more weight means more growth. And you are moving far more weight on barbell presses than dumbell presses.

I like to start with 4 sets of barbell, then 4 sets DB. It's tons of fun.

You can push a lot more weight with the bar, but the stabilisers are an important factor of reps, it is also alot easier for someone else to help you if you are struggling with the Bar.
Basicaly, I would say that the bar is for exhaustion, the d-bs are for form.

With DB, more muscles are called in for the movement to stabilize. It also offers a greater ROM. Each variation has its purpose.

In order to more closely arrive at ones physical potential, both barbells and dumbbells should be employed in one

i prefer barbell but every once in a while ill switch to high reps and do dumbell

so when should u switch from barbell to dumbell ? wen u hit a plateu on ur benchpress?

I usually do barbell one week then dumbell the next alternating back and forth.