• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Social Did Huxley and Orwell get it right as far as the future goes?

squeezewax

Red Belt
@red
Reaction score
I've tried reading 1984, and Brave New World, a number of times but i found both hard going. I've seen the film based on 1984 a few times, and i've listened to audiobooks of both novels over the years. So i'm no expert on either.
I'm hoping there are people here who are much more familiar with them.

I have read that both were asked in interviews what they thought was in store for Western society. Apparently both said that democracy/freedom wouldn't last very long at all. That it would be replaced with Authoritarianism and Totalitarianism.

I'm no history expert so my question is, how long has democracy been around? I always think of it as a mid-twentieth century thing? However, has it made appearances occasionally throughout human history at all?
Was the Greek Empire a democracy? If it was, was it quite different to what he call democracy these days?
Hasn't the human race lived in political systems or under royalty most of the time, and basically struggled in a shitty existence?

https://www.learning-mind.com/mental-slavery-orwell-huxley/
Excerpts from the link.

'In 1984, we see a gloomy world of the Party’s ruthless dictatorship that keeps everyone in fear. Orwell’s society doesn’t only suppress the freedom of speech – it suppresses the freedom of thought and the individuality itself.

Methods of terror such as absurd war propaganda and total surveillance kill the tiniest seed of critical thought in people’s minds. Those who are still capable of some extent of critical thinking are persecuted and eventually destroyed by the Thought Police.