Dealing with wrestlers (**Judo/Randori**)

EndoG

Blue Belt
Reaction score
One thing I haven't heard with regard to "dealing with wrestlers" is using judo takedowns.
Specifically (and yes, I'm very new to judo) I find that I have almost 0 success applying my judo against people using a crouched wrestling stance.

Tips on what to work on look for in general?

(And if you're feeling generous any suggestions about what I should work on -- I'm 6'2 ~200lbs (very lean and long legged build). The throws I've been putting the most time into so far are: Ochi Gari, Kouchi Gari, Osoto Gari, and Tai Otoshi [work well with my height and they all provide a nice position for grappling after the throw].)

Thanks Judo guys and anyone else with recommendations.
I've been told "it's easy", just grab the other guy by the belt when they crouch and Osoto Gari, but I've had 0 luck with that so far.

One thing I haven't heard with regard to "dealing with wrestlers" is using judo takedowns.
Specifically (and yes, I'm very new to judo) I find that I have almost 0 success applying my judo against people using a crouched wrestling stance.

Tips on what to work on look for in general?

(And if you're feeling generous any suggestions about what I should work on -- I'm 6'2 ~200lbs (very lean and long legged build). The throws I've been putting the most time into so far are: Ochi Gari, Kouchi Gari, Osoto Gari, and Tai Otoshi [work well with my height and they all provide a nice position for grappling after the throw].)

Thanks Judo guys and anyone else with recommendations.
I've been told "it's easy", just grab the other guy by the belt when they crouch and Osoto Gari, but I've had 0 luck with that so far.

lol

that sounds tough trying to use a judo throw when a wrestler is crouching. Try to shoot in on him.

Uchi-mata and sumi-gaeshi are my "weapons of choice" in this scenario...

get him moving. nobody crouches 100% of the time.