Deadlift form check

Roen

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi,
This is my first attempt at the deadlift, your feedback is welcome!

Link
(I don't know much about it, but I think my first rep was a little bit too much arms)

looks like your legs are straightening too soon. Think of the whole movement in terms of hip extention. As your hips extend, your legs will straighten and your will pull back on the weights. I once had a one handed golf coach who told me it's all in the hips.

Need more weight.

You're looking down on the decent. It's not a problem with the weight you're using, but it's probably not a good habit to have when you start doing max-ish lifts.

Ok, thanks for the quick reply's, i know i need to pull more weight, this was only 70kg (do you count the bar:redface:). So, i need to push my hips more forward instead of upward, thats all?

Careful with jerking the weight up like that, you can really hurt yourself when you actually put weight on the bar. I agree with Urban, you straighten your legs too soon, but your deadlift is in fastforward, so I did the best I could watching. Get your chest up so your back isn't rounded.

yeah, as you kinda of pointed out, you "use too much arms," and you shouldnt be using any arms, they should be locked the whole time.

Try this. Put at least 315 on the bar (or other suitable weight), and try again.

Ok, i think i will try a harder set with more weight.
Can i do that tomorrow? Cause i read about the deadlift taking much off your body, but not mine right?(70 kg)

and 315 lbs, i bought a set of 140 kg, i converted it to lbs and that is 308.6471670588286 Lbs to be precise... i'll just try something i find hard!

Ok, i think i will try a harder set with more weight.
Can i do that tomorrow? Cause i read about the deadlift taking much off your body, but not mine right?(70 kg)

and 315 lbs, i bought a set of 140 kg, i converted it to lbs and that is 308.6471670588286 Lbs to be precise... i'll just try something i find hard!