deadlift benefits for fighters?

frango

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
So, this is maybe a total noob question...but hey, this is the right place to ask, right?

Im deadlifting twice a week and i like it.Thats a good thing.

I know the DL is one of the most complete exercises available as it works almost the whole body. BUT: as a martial artist who punches, kicks, block punches, and therefore rotates the torso etc etc etc...What are the benefits from deadlifting in martial arts?

i know it works your core too, but can anyone be more specific?

Aint squats better?

If you had to choose between squats and deadlifts for your training program, which one would you choose? (assuming your goal is to perform better in combat sports)

Thanks for your inputs.

This is open for debate.

I'd choose the squat.

there isn't a good reason why you would choose only one over the other if you can do both. They're both pretty important.

That being said, if I had to choose one, I'd probably pick the squat for strictly combat sports purposes.

ok
but what are the benefits of deadlifting for martial arts/combat sports?

would it be a simple answer as "you get stronger in general" so you can hit harder?

Why not alternate? I lift twice a week and every 3-4 weeks I cycle out squats and deads. My lifts when I return to it (eg. 2nd squat cycle) are fine and hasn't gone down.

But if I had to choose, I'd probably choose squats. I find I can recover quicker from squats than deads (DOMS).

What's your current programming like right now?

ok
but what are the benefits of deadlifting for martial arts/combat sports?

would it be a simple answer as "you get stronger in general" so you can hit harder?

More or less, yes. But getting "stronger" doesn't really make you hit harder. Hitting hard is a result of sound technique.

What's your current programming like right now?

mine?
i lift on monday and thursday.
DL
BP
OHP 4x5
chin-ups

its waved periodization.