Compressing a PL split into 2 days

Brando

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
Little bit of background:

I used to be a big, weak fatso. I was tipping the scales around 190ish at about 15 years old. I started boxing Christmas of last year and dropped down to roughly 150 without loosing too much strength and actually gaining some. 150 isn't too cool a weight to be sitting at for me though, because I'm 6'1. Not only that, I'm really not happy with my strength levels, and am struggling for a way to improve them. I'm a 17 year old amateur boxer who's been following a powerlifter's 3-day pull-push-squat split for awhile now. I've stepped up my face-stuffing to sherdog-appropriate levels. Unfortunately, I'm still a little bitch when it comes to moving big iron, but atleast I'm a bitch thats improving and gaining some weight now.

My lifting goals are basically just to improve my limit strength for now because I'm relatively new to lifting smart. I know I can achieve these goals following the 3 day split, but because of time constraints I'm having trouble devoting 3 days to lifting, and it'd be alot better for me if I could cram it into 2 days. I can pull off 3 if it's necessary, but I never feel like I can put in enough while sparring after a tough day of squatting, benching, etc.

Thanks to the search function, Carnal's treatise and the stickies, my routine looks like this:

pull

db snatch/deadlift 5X5
still legged deadlift 4X8
pull-ups/bent-over rows 4X8
barbell shrugs 4X8

push

DB Bench 5X5
overhead press 4X6
close-grip bench 4X8
dips 3X5

squat

back squat 5X5
box squat 4X6
good mornings 3X8
step-ups 3X8

Supplemented with weighted/intense BW core work in the form of dragon flags, planks, hanging leg raises, ab wheel, weighted sit-ups, saxon side bends, etc.