cardio hurts strength training?

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by legend killa, Jul 17, 2005.

1. legend killa

legend killa Banned Banned

Read an article on a strength training routine and one of the things they said was that to much cardio hinders your strength training.I want to start a strength training routine but I also dont want to be outta shape cardio wise.They said to to stick to 20-30 minutes of walking on a slight incline no more than three times a week.Anybodu have any suggestions for me?

2. Ted-P

Ted-P Brown Belt

That's probably not an MMA training article.

3. Aerts/Mir33

Aerts/Mir33 Purple Belt

bullshit

4. TKMaxx715

TKMaxx715 saggy pants

only suggestion i could have is dont listen to them and cut off your subscription to them asap

5. TGR74

TGR74 Brown Belt

Ditch your cardio...have a heart attack in your 30's.

6. kelt_22

kelt_22 Yellow Belt

I am a personal trainer. cardio helps you strength training.
    cardio=more capularies=more blood flow to muscle=better pump/training

extreme amounts of cardio like long distance running, can hurt slightly by burning off muscle and building slow twitch(enderance) muscle in stead of fast twich(explosve/power).

7. TJS

TJS Brown Belt

I think that theory apples more to body builders not athletes.

8. AxeGrinder

AxeGrinder Purple Belt

hahah, for a minute I was like what is wrong with this kid....I dont see how it can do any harm, as long as you dont run like 10 miles a day or something....jogging has always gave me more energy, both for strength and fighting.....

9. Timbaland

Timbaland Black Belt

Cardio shouldn't affect your weight training performance. If it is you probably need to modify your diet to account for the calories burned from cardio and to help your body recover.

10. Rhadi Ferguson

Rhadi Ferguson White Belt Professional Fighter