B's Energy Log!!! (Strength)

DrBdan

Something clever
@Silver
Reaction score
This is my log to document my attempt at getting stronger. My main goal is pretty simple: increase my overall strength and power. This log is also going to cover my adventures in Muay Thai and conditioning.

A little background... I've been pretty active my entire life but never at any highly competitive level. Over the years I've played soccer, baseball, ice hockey and floor hockey. I've also done curling and inner tube water polo for fun. Currently I play floor hockey and go to the gym. I've been training Muay Thai since January of 2008.

Weights-wise... when I was 13 or 14 my Dad bought me a basic weight set: barbell, adjustable dumbells and maybe 70 lb of weights and about a year later I got a bench. I used the weights on and off for a few years, doing bodybuilder style workouts with little results. I really had no idea what I was doing. The weights were eventually sold at a garage sale when I left for university. In my last semester I got a membership at a chain fitness centre and started going on and off, until the Fall of 2006 when I started going regularly on my lunch hour.

Physically... I've always been pretty skinny. When I was 19 I weighed about 160. After four years of drinking and crappy eating at university followed by a few years at a desk job I got up to 195 by Feb 2007 (mostly fat). At that point I improved my eating habits and made my workouts more intense and by Fall 2007 I was down to around 175.

Currently I'm 28 years old, 6 feet tall, and around 175 lb, though it's definitely a much leaner and stronger 175 than last Fall. Back in the spring I found Sherdog and the S&P which opened my eyes to a better way of training. I started doing the Stronglifts 5x5 in May and have made pretty good gains since.