brusing question??

VegasFighter**

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I just started training BJJ a week ago,and i'm kinda soft. after my 1st week, i have all kinds or bruises on my shoulders, arms, legs wrists. The main reason i'm even doing BJJ is to lose weight, not really to fight.. So i have some questions.

Will the bruising go away as my body gets harder?

Is it common to bruise easily in the beginning?

Am i training at too difficult a gym? I currently train at the Las vegas combat club.. www.lvcombatclub.com

Heath Herring (pride), Frank Mir (UFC), Alex Schoenauer (the Ultimate fighter) all train there. is that where i should be as a beginner?

yes it is normal to bruise easily in the begining. if your looking to get good at bjj you are probably at the right place those guys are good, however, if your not looking to compete ever then it might not be the best place

Yeah, I also had many bruises when i first started off. I agree with Killa, if rour not looking to compete it might not be the best choice.

But then again Frank Mir & Heath Herring train there so thats pretty cool.

competing or not, you're training for health and probably self defense.....training with top notch guys will only make you better at the game, so if you ever need to use it....you'll probably be ok when it comes time.

VegasFighter said:
I have all kinds or bruises on my shoulders, arms, legs wrists.
Will the bruising go away as my body gets harder?
Is it common to bruise easily in the beginning?

5+ years of Judo and I still get these all the time. You will bruise throughout your grappling career. Pic taken tonight from class a week ago. It's a picture of my bicep.

Bubble Boy said:
5+ years of Judo and I still get these all the time. You will bruise throughout your grappling career. Pic taken tonight from class a week ago. It's a picture of my bicep.

nice....cauliflower ears and bruises are the sign of a warrior :eek:

me, i'm not a warrior, as I only have a few bruises.