Book suggestions

vision1

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
I'm 16 years old, very fit, but I have no background in any fighting style. I was wondering what book some of you would recommend I read. A book about mma training would be good, but if there are any very good specific books I'd be interested as well. I'd personaly like to learn about BJJ or Muay Tai.

I know a book is no where near as good as going to a gym and being taught, but I live in a city with not many gyms around (other than YMCA).

thanks for your help

A book can never substitue a good teacher. In fact, I'd say you're better off not learning then from trying to learn from a book. The reason being that there's no skilled teacher to pick up on any bad habits you might have. If they're not corrected early in your training, they'll be harder to correct down the road as they've become comfortable. What city do you live in? I'm sure there's probably more gyms than you think...they're just not advertised. There might even be a good teacher who teaches out of some basement or backroom. Have you looked at the school database to see if there's any schools listed in your city?

Would you mind giving me a link to the school database?

thanks

I looked in the yellowpages, and I found a few other gyms. I couldn't find anything though on the styles I'd like to learn. This is what I could find:

Karate
Jiu Jitsu
Tae Kwon Do
Samurai Sword
Aikido
Kick Boxing
Tai Chi
Kobudo
Pa Qua
Iaido
Krav Maga

Are any of those very effective? The problem is I live in a rich city, and I have a feeling most of these would be more of a cardio class, or a self-defence for older women.

thanks again for any help

Take up the Kickboxing class, and eventually you'll find more people talking about MMA, alternatively you should list your location so people can help you on a more refined basis.