BJJ along with Vegitarians

BJJ_Defib

White Belt
Reaction score
I am sixteen and just started taking BJJ. I have been tossing around the idea of being a Vegetarian for a couple months. Is this a good idea.

Thanks
Keith

Some people respond better than others. Try it out

Don't be surprised if you gain a lot of weight from eating carbs all the time.

For a couple months? And why? Obviously not for ethical reasons/you not liking meat, and being vegetarian isn't inherently healthy...so yeah. Why?

Read the stickies and get back to us.

^fear of the dark,fear of the dark,i have a phobia that somethings always there

No you should not cut meat entirely out of your diet. You need the meats for the training that you are doing. If you want to eliminate fatty meats, and even pork that would be the way to go. Especially in the beginning when you are getting used to the sport you are going to need all the energy you can get. After you become more advanced you will understand your body better, and you can play with the idea of your diet a little more freely.

Why do people always have to ask why? If it were simply for knowledge it'd be one thing, but that question inevitably leads to the macho man versus girly man crap and some genius spewing some made up national geographic-esque garbage about canine teeth. :rolleyes:

Just be and let be. Now that I have that outta the way...

I'm a veg so I have a different perspective for ya. I'll start by saying in hindsight, I would have made simple dietary adjustments rather than completely omit all meats from my diet. Make sure this something you really want to do, or else your just giving yourself unnecessary hassles. These are all my personal opinions to take it how you want.

First off I'd say for any serious athlete absolutely NEEDS animal protein. That means no veganism. I tried it and failed horribly. If you can work it more power to you. I need either eggs or dairy everyday or I know i'll be behind.