Arm day?

#1can

Blue Belt
Reaction score
There are alot of ar-day-haters out there. Why?

I have divided my split into: upper body push, upper body pull, lower push, lower pull, and arms (incl. forearms/grip)

Don't worry, squats, front squats, deads, stiff leggs, bent rows, push press, bench press, and hang cleans are all in there so you hardcore PL's dont bash just yet.

The reason ive decided on an arm day is i feel as though my triceps especially are a limiting factor in my bench and overhead, so why not train them separately as well as on push day. BTW i am a college student with no job who doesn't go to class, thats where i get all the time for this stuff.

Opinions?

If you're doing a decent routine you probably wont have enough time to recover, and progress. How exactly are you structuring your workout as far as calendar days? 5 seperate workouts is a lot to manage.

i personally feel it's a waste of training time, and if you also train in a martial arts (which i assume, because your on a fighting webpage)...it will be hard to balance everything and still recover.

anvar said:
i personally feel it's a waste of training time, and if you also train in a martial arts (which i assume, because your on a fighting webpage)...it will be hard to balance everything and still recover.
5 weight training days plus training in MA. Christ, you'd need to be a walking pharmacy.

Eh...I find arm days to be silly in terms of functionality. Look at the way you do your tricep exercises. When will you ever use those movements in real life? How many times will you be holding a weight behind your head and press it up with just your triceps? Think about that for a minute.