Are there any side effects to a blood chokes?

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by sylar23, Jun 17, 2008.

1. sylar23

sylar23 White Belt

Hi I'm really new to sherdog and would like to call on the experience of some people that practice bjj. I find myself more and more impressed when I see these techniques used in mma, I find myself wondering if there are any side effects to a rear naked choke, if for example the person doesn't tap out in time and blacks out. Does he loose brain cells is he ok afterwards or is it like a knock out where you can't drive afterwards etc. Any input would be greatly appreciated and I hope this question hasn't been asked to many times thanx .

2. Nickynoneck

Nickynoneck Purple Belt

Nothing really if the guy lets go of you , its cutting off your blood flow to your head if the guy lets go once your out you wake up and wonder why theres a pepper shaker up your ass .

but if he keeps a hold of it to long( talking like a minute or so ) you could die .

3. silverline122

silverline122 Brown Belt

you lose brain cells, but then again you lose brain cells from head banging

4. sylar23

sylar23 White Belt

thanks mate so when you wake up your sweet theres no problems like needing to be checked over by a dr or headaches, dizzyness obviously apart from the pepper shaker up the ass your ok?

5. Belatucadros

Belatucadros Brown Belt

I have a feeling everyone is going about this wrong, so let me jump in:

Why do you want to know? It's not at all cool to choke out your friends who "watch UFC lolz", or whatever. ;)

However back on the topic, I don't think I've ever actually seen a study on the effect or best thing to do for a person after etc.

6. mowrown

mowrown Yellow Belt

7. sylar23

sylar23 White Belt

I was just wondering cause I know what happens after a knock out and what could happen afterwards etc. Watching mma fights and seeing the ground game in action, I was just thinking I

8. sylar23

sylar23 White Belt