any advice, first BJJ class tomorrow

ImTechn9que

Blue Belt
Reaction score
i have no grappling experience and don't really know what to expect tomorrow

how did your first class go?

and i know every instructor teaches differently, but what are some things i should expect to be learning tomorrow

by the way this is where i'm going - http://www.armlock.com/

Just go in. Be relaxed. Have fun! If you roll, don't try to "impress" anyone or something and if you get in a bad position, tap. Theres nothing wrong with tapping :) Be like a sponge and absorb everything :)

#1 Don't have an ego. Even if you wrestled before you're going to get tapped. If you're the toughest kid in school you'll still get tapped. If you have 25 lbs. on a blue belt you're still going to get tapped. I'm in decent shape. I weigh about 175 lbs. I got tapped by a girl. It wasn't a problem, I just made a note of my mistake and kept learning.

#2 Don't ask, "But what if he does this?" BJJ really does work but nothing works if your opponent knows it's coming or if you don't have the proper setup. Sometimes I see new guys going through the imaginary situations coming up with silly counters to every idea and I want to choke them out. :)

#3 Tap if you're getting subbed. It's just training. If you're getting choked tap, then make a note of what went wrong.

#4 Don't spaz. I still find it difficult to strike the balance between using the energy/conditioning I worked hard to gain and spazzing. As a new guy the general tone you want is that of thoughtful analysis during your grappling. Freaking out will just present submissions to your opponent.

#5 Tell your opponent it's your first day. I did that and a guy that could clearly crush me handled me a little nicer. I'm glad I did it.

That's all that comes to mind. Oh yeah, don't forget to stretch.

Louis Vintaloro's school is a great one. I trained there for about ten months. Once I finish college in April, I'll be back there for another four months.