Addiction is getting Worse! Intervention Needed!

BobSacamano

White Belt
Reaction score
I have only been doing Bjj for 4 months, usually 2xs a week and a third open mat day on Saturday. I suck balls. I normally roll with blues who have a minimum of 2-3 years under their belt. I tap 194837204482 times a night. And the only 2 taps I have gotten have been against another noob with about a month less than me. I friggin love it.

This week my schedule allowed me to go 4 times and 1 open mat. Now, looking at the week ahead I can't see myself only going 2x's again. I am already planning ways to sneak out of work and do an afternoon class, shoot home, shower, and head back to work. (Work, home, and jits are all 5 minutes from each other, I am lucky)...Problem is, sure I would get away with sneaking out of work once, maybe twice, but I can see it becoming a habit. I am a project manager for a huge corporation so going in the "field" is common but I may start jonesin for jits and it could get me in trouble. I coach my daughters soccer team, so those nights are not doable...I find myself blabbing about to anyone who will listen and I am already dropping hints to my wife that we are gonna have to work out a way I can go more...

IS this normal?

I also hit the gym for cardio for like 30 minutes but after this week who in their right mind wants to go to the gym when I could do jits 4-5 times a week.

I am not the type to "buy in" into things very easily, kinda cynical, but BJJ has changed my life...Has this addiction happened to you guys?
IF so, how do you handle it? Seriously...

Don't sneak out of work to train. You can't train if you can't pay for it.

The best cure to BJJ addiction is injury caused by overtraining.