aches & pains

bringthenoize

White Belt
Reaction score
Tried a few phrases on the search function but couldn't find anything. Also looked at the injuries sticky and think this thread would be in the acceptables.

So.... what it is is that I'm currently doing muay thai twice a week (Mon & Fri) and weights Wednesdays.

I've been lifting weights for a couple of years (just weights) with up and down experiences. It's recently that I've picked up on the martial arts.

Problem is is that I'm finding myself feeling very sore for say up to 2-3 days after a muay thai class. I've also always found this with the weights but thought it was completely normal due to the strain being placed on the body but I'm experimenting with the weights at the moment and am only doing 1 heavy set of 8 reps for exercises like squat etc and it's still happening... which on the side makes me wonder how you guys do some of the weights routines posted on here and are still able to do other regular training.

I'd like to end up with a weekly plan that looks like this...

Mon: muay thai
Tues: cardio
Wed: weights
Thurs: light cardio or rest day
Fri: muay thai
Sat: jiu jitsu
Sun: light cardio or rest

But at present the aches I'm getting arent making that look possible. I'd like to do the weights routine tonight but my legs are still sore from Monday night's muay thai.

I warm down and stretch after each session and am also trying to stretch throughout the day.

Any advice on what I could do to improve this situation? Because obviously its effecting the training that I want to do and secondly its uncomfortable going through most days aching!!

Cheers

How long have you been doing the MT? just like weight lifting your body will get used to a new workout. Same thing happens if you change your reps. Give it some time and it'll go away, if it's been awhile and still won't go away you probably have to correct some things.

Things that help recovery (no particular order)