A bit of a bias?

SamuelDeath

White Belt
Reaction score
So I have been training in Muay Thai for the last 4-5 months. It seems to fit all the criteria of a legit school. (it is in the good graces of master toddy). I like it.

The owner is also a very well respected wing-tsun'r(taught by some grandmaster).

But they (the instructors) talk up the wing-tsun and how it is purely combat and super gnarly and the Muay Thai is mostly sport, we train legit and hard and they are always talking about the spirit and heart and toughness of a thai boxer but not a whole lot of talk of outside the ring uses.

I know the MT is considered a sport, but I also see its has many efficient self defense applications as well. Does it just kinda go without saying that if you become proficient in the techniques that you could hold your own in a streetfight? they do recognize its self defense applications but no to the degree of thier wing-tsun program.

I dont want this to turn into a this vs. that shitflinging fest but I would like some opinions. And why wing-tsun is held in such high regard (to them anyway, because I don't see what is so special about it)

Im leaving this kinda open ended.

I dont know anything about wing tsun honestly..but ive used knee's in streetfights before and they work great..a good thai clinch and some knees ends a fight very quickly..plus if you train you stay a little calmer and control your adrenaline cause your used to guys throwing at you.

oh..and elbows...open a cut with an elbow..most people dont want to fight anymore once they see there own blood

training for sport is more efficient than just for self defence purposes. when training for sport you know your gonna do battle in the ring, and it motivates one to train harder, get into better shape and to polish your technique or else you know your gonna get your ass handed to you.