6 weeks out from comp.

bowlie

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
Our university taekwondo club is holding a tournament some time in feb. Up until now all my work has been on getting a better aerobic and strength base. Its no where near where I want it to be, especially my strength base, but it should be good enough for a small comp like this.

I think in these next few weeks should be fight prep, anaerobic work, which I have no experience with. Should I keep my strength training the same, but just have a week off before the tournament? What kind of anaerobic training is best?

Last edited:
That looks good, the only problem is I dont have a place to do the sprint, and I was hoping to do this after a weights session, so less emphasis on the upper body strength exercises.

If I decided to do lactic power / capacity sprints would you recomend doing each for 3 weeks or just one?

You are going to lose if you can even be dedicated enough to find a 50 yard strip of grass. Don't make excuses.

You are going to lose if you can even be dedicated enough to find a 50 yard strip of grass. Don't make excuses.

Yes, because that's the only workout routine available to him.

Leading up to a fight I usually keep the strength training the same up until the week of the competition, then I'll taper it off, performing one slightly lighter strength workout about 4 days out.

Same thing with the conditioning. I'll try and work longer-duration sprints for a few reps once or twice a week at about this stage, then increase the intensity/decrease the duration, as well as increase the number of reps as I get closer to a fight. In general, close to a fight I will make my workouts shorter and faster, and more similar in terms of work:rest to my fight.